Cyber Kill Chain

In 2011, Lockheed Martin introduced a concept called Cyber Kill Chain. It outlines the following 7 steps of a cyber attack:

1) Reconnaissance

2) Weaponization

3) Delivery

4) Exploitation

5) Installation

6) Command and Control

7) Actions on Objectives

A well designed Cyber Security program would allow an organization to monitor, alert, and disrupt the Kill Chain and therefore, disrupts the attack or APT (Advance Persistent Threat)

Understanding of the Cyber Kill Chain is therefore, critical in Cyber Security Operations.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.